Search This Blog

Thursday, January 10, 2013

Appreciations to SYMA Bliss - of Mr SAM Hussain

Srinivas Youngmens Association, popularly known as SYMA has been in the field of Social service since 1977.  We have a Medical Centre providing consultation @ Rs.2/- and free medicines to poor patients from 5 pm to 7 pm on all days excluding Sundays and National holidays.  We run a Educational Tuition centre titled ‘SYMA Growth’ providing free tuition centre for 2 hours  on all days of week.  We have been actively engaged in various other activities including provision of free uniforms, educational aid, health camps, blood donation, environmental cleanliness, civic programmes and more. 

To propagate and to keep the members abreast of all the activities, SYMA launched its own newsletter called ‘Bliss’.  The voice of SYMA ‘Bliss’ has been on print since 2003 and me [S. Sampathkumar, presently Secretary SYMA] has been its Editor from Sept 2003.

SYMA – BLISS is a 4 paged newsletter which apart from the activities of SYMA includes articles on motivating students, bringing out the good aspects of the Society, of the occurrences in Triplicane and on some famous persons of the locality… most of them written by Yours Truly.

The newsletter is well read with close to 500 copies being printed and distributed to SYMA members, well-wishers, patrons and locals of Thiruvallikkeni.  It gets circulated through e-mail to a list of around 400 people who have registered their e-mail IDs with SYMA.  Copies of the magazine can be downloaded from our website

There have been appreciations ~ bouquets in person to the Editor……. Nothing pleases a Writer more than a sincere feedback on the contents.  Here is one from the archive, a neatly written letter by Mr SAM Hussain, the then MLA of Triplicane constituency representing DMK party. Mr SAM Hussain has been one of the well-wishers of SYMA, has participated in many of our programmes and has helped SYMA.

Here is a photo with me sitting alongside Mr Hussain.  Mr SAM Hussain, won Triplicane seat in 2001 securing 34943 votes [49.79% of the polled votes] defeating his nearest Congress rival who had 31267 votes.

With regards – S. Sampathkumar.

No comments:

Post a Comment