Search This Blog

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

The Indian debutants at Sabina Park and some cricket trivia !

People say that Cricket garners all attention and sometimes we feel that we know so much of Cricket.

It is fact that not all become famous like Sachin and Dhoni – of course not all of them have such talent also.  To those who claim to follow cricket at all levels – can you identify this cricketer whose name is :
Murugesan Dickeshwashankar  _________________ ?

In the First Test that got underway yesterday [20th June 2011] at Sabina Park, Kingston, Jamaica presented a rare spectacle of two Tamilnadu players opening for India.  There have been few batsmen who had donned Indian colours in Test from the days of MJ Gopalan, CD Gopinath, Thirumalai Echambadi Srinivasan, Krish Srikkanth, Woorkeri Venkatraman, Robin Singh, Sadagoppan Ramesh, Dinesh Karthik, Subramaniam Badrinath …… yesterday Murali Vijay walked with Abhinav Mukund – making his debut in the land of Caribbean’s.

Vijay had a great IPL 4 season and Abhinav had prolifically made runs at the domestic competition last year.  This left hander struck it rich in the Ranji Super League match in Nov 2008 against Maharashtra – when he scored an unbeaten 300 with 33 hits to the fence and 5 over it.   Tamilnadu declared at 648/3 in 132 overs.  In that match also, his opening partner was Murali Vijay who scored 243.  On an earlier occasion, WV Raman and Arjan Kripal singh both scored 300 in a Ranji match against Goa.  There were 3 debutants – Virat Kohli touted by some as future captaincy material, Praveenkumar who has played some international cricket and the raw Mukund. 

The debutant Mukund soon found that it is all different when it comes to International level.  The start was not great,  Murali left early and Abhinav could make only 11.  The pitch had moist, there was uneven bounce and the team was heading for a low score when Raina and belligerent Harbhajan joined to lift the score.  Bhaji was out to a great catch by the young Devendra Bishoo.  Bishoo in this third test removed VVS, Dravid and Dhoni who have amassed runs amongst them in the space of 20 balls.  Indians were all out for 246 and there were some testing period for the West Indians as well
That Murugesan namer was googly – it is Indian Woman Cricketer :
Murugesan Dickeshwashankar Thirush Kamini !

Recently the BCCI awards were presented – Tendulkar was the India’s cricketer of the year.  Salim Durrani received the lifetime achievement award.    Durani played 29 tests between 1960 & 1973 and was known for his six hitting prowess.  India's World Cup-winning team and support staff were also honoured at the awards.

Karnataka's Manish Pandey picked up the award for best batsman in domestic cricket, having scored 882 runs in nine Ranji Trophy  matches.  Fast bowler Abhimanyu Mithun, who claimed 47 wickets in the competition, was named best bowler.

Alongside - M A Chidambaram Trophy for best woman cricketer was presented to Thirushkamini.  She has so far represented India in 21 One dayers with limited success.  She bowls right arm leg spin and is no rabbit with the bat.  

Regards – S. Sampathkumar..  

No comments:

Post a Comment