Search This Blog

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

IPL 2017 - Qualifier 1 - Dhoni's blitz ...

Will this be another cracker of a contest ? – first match of the Qualifiers in IPL 2017.?

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma  won the toss,  chose to bowl in the first qualifier, against Rising Pune Supergiant, at the Wankhede Stadium. Of the seven games at this venue during the league stage, four have been  won by the chasing team.  In an interesting format (the same in all IPLs)  - the  winner of this match goes straight into the final, the loser will have another shot at getting there.

Mumbai brought back Mitchell McClenaghan, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga and Parthiv Patel, all of whom were rested for their previous game against Kolkata Knight Riders, for Saurabh Tiwary, Vinay Kumar, Tim Southee and Mitchell Johnson. Ambati Rayudu, who struck 63 in the final league game, retained his place ahead of Nitish Rana. Karn Sharma preferred  over Harbhajan Singh, dropped !!.

Rising Pune  had just once force change - fast bowler Lockie Ferguson, who just bowed a fast wide,  for Ben Stokes,  as he had to leave to join  England's camp ahead of their ODI series against South Africa.

MI strategists were feeling happy – after 18, RSP were only 121/3.  McClenaghan was pulled for a 4; being a beamer, a no ball - hit straight down for a 6 by Manoj Tiwary.  The 4th ball disappeared miles away, hit massively by MS Dhoni; couple of wides, a dot ball and the last one hit back into the dugout for another 6 by MSD.  26 came off it. 

Last over by Jasprit Bumrah – 2nd ball hit flat over cover for a 6; 4th hit straight back over the head of the bowler for another 6 – Bumrah denied runs of the last 2 – but Dhoni and Manoj Tiwary have given something bowl for Pune. 

Mi chasing and diminutive Parthiv Patel has given rousing start with 3 sixers already ~ and suddenly TN boy Washington Sundar has turned the tables with his offies – getting rid of Rohit Sharma and then Ambati Rayudu..

Regards – S. Sampathkumar

16th May 2017 @ 10.22 pm.

No comments:

Post a Comment