Search This Blog

Monday, January 17, 2011

Indian Team for World Cup 2011 announced few minutes back

THE much awaited 15 member squad for ICC World Cup 2011 was released a few minutes ago. No surprises at all. MS Dhoni is the Captain. The Team is Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag (vice captain), Gautam Gambhir,Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Virat Kohli, R Ashwin, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Munaf Patel, Praveen Kumar, Yusuf Pathan, Ashish Nehra, Piyush Chawla.

The notable omissions (if you can call it that way) are – Rohit Sharma and Sreesanth. Surprise in a way is Piyush Chawla as we thought there is room for only two spinners- Bhaji and then Ashwin. The selectors Krishnamachari Srikkanth, Yashpal Sharma, Surendra Bhave, Narendra Hirwani and Raja Venkat met in Chennai today and released this list.

The upcoming edition of WC is the 10th WC and would be hosted by India Lanka and Bangladesh. The tourney will commence on 19th Feb 2011 and Finals will be on 2nd April 2011. The First match will feature co-hosts India and Bangladesh at Mirpur Dhaka. Many combinations have been tried out in earlier WC and this time we have a revised format. The no. of teams is 14 and the first round would a round robin of 2 groups consisting of 7 teams each. Top 4 from each group quality for QF.

Group A has : Australia, Newzealand, Pakistan, Srilanka, Canada, Zimbabwe and Kenya
Group B has : India, South Africa, England, West Indies, Bangladesh, Ireland and Nederlands

There will be Sachin at the top of the order, hopefully fully recovered from his injury and having a fling at the Cup, in what could be his last appearance in WC. Perhaps the best available Team and whether this is good enough remains to be seen

Regards – S. Sampathkumar

No comments:

Post a Comment