Search This Blog

Tuesday, August 2, 2022

Obed McCoy's feat another delayed start !!

Those of us who have been following Cricket from mid 1970s would vouch - those days WI pace battery would render most visiting teams literally battered and bruised with injuries all over.  Those were the days of Andy Roberts, Wayne Daniel, Vanburn Holder, Michael Holding, Colin Croft, Joel Garner, Malcolm Marshall,  Patrick Patterson, Winston Davis,  Courtney Walsh, Curtly Ambrose, Ian Bishop . .. .. to name some .. .. and - and this list has no left arm pacers.  Have seen India rattled by many left handed bowlers like John Lever, Azim Hafiz .. .. and the latest to join the list is ‘Obed McCoy’.


Mccoy does not bowl scorching pace- but has a great variety that comes as a silver lining to the present struggling team.  He shone against India yesterday with a 6 wicket haul - yes, 4-1-17-6!!  the match started around the time, it would have ended if it had gone by schedule - as a  three-hour hold-up caused by the delayed arrival of the teams' luggage and kits from Trinidad.  Instead of 10am, the toss finally took place at 1pm. 

West Indies could have won handsomely but  complicated a comfortable chase of 139, before a final-over no-ball by Avesh Khan became the trigger for a five-wicket win that levelled the five-match series against India. West Indies took it deep yet won the equation  of 75 off 72 balls, with nine wickets in hand, becoming 27 off 18, and then 10 off the last over - Devon Thomas capitalised on the free-hit to slam a six followed by a four to wrap up the chase.  The match perhaps would be remembered for the heroics of Obed McCoy achieving West Indies' best bowling figures in T20Is - and the best against India by any side in the format. 

Today it is the 3rd match of the SEries and it also is likely to be delayed - a hangover of yesterday.  The start of the third T20I between West Indies and India in St Kitts on Tuesday has been pushed back by 90 minutes. Instead of 10.30am local time [8pm IST], the match will now begin at 12pm local time [9.30pm IST], with the toss to take place at 11.30am.·

The match timings have been revised to give the players extra time to recover after the second T20I on Monday began three hours behind schedule.  Due to the logistical hurdles resulting in the delayed arrival of the teams' kits, three India players ended up wearing team-mates' shirts: Suryakumar Yadav and Avesh Khan were seen wearing Arshdeep Singh's No. 2 shirt.  After Tuesday's game, the teams are due to fly to Lauderhill in Florida, where the last two matches of the series are scheduled to take place on August 6 and 7. 

Interesting !


With regards - S. Sampathkumar
2nd Aug 2022 @ 20:30hrs.


No comments:

Post a Comment