Search This Blog

Wednesday, November 15, 2023

Run out - funny rule !!


Funny rules !  -  Run out !!  Tense Semi finals :  Over 42.1  - Bumrah to Mitchell,  a beautiful throw from Kuldeep at  long on hits the stump at bowler’s end, ricochets off – batter run another one- throw from Bumrah catches Glenn Phillips out of the crease –

You think it to be a Run-out   but it wasn’t !!

38.1 Out Run out

Either batter is out Run out, except as in 38.2, if, at any time while the ball is in play, he/she is out of his/her ground and his/her wicket is fairly broken by the action of a fielder even though No ball has been called,

BUT Not out because according to rule 29.1 :   The wicket is broken when at least one bail is completely removed from the top of the stumps, or one or more stumps is removed from the ground.

So if the throw from Bumrah had uprooted the stump, it was run out – otherwise not !!!!!

No comments:

Post a Comment